Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon

Congressman Doug LaMalfa

Representing the 1st District of California

Rep. LaMalfa Votes To Roll Back Obamacare, Defund Planned Parenthood

Jan 6, 2016
Press Release

Washington, DC – Rep. LaMalfa today voted in favor of H.R. 3762, the Restoring Americans’ Healthcare Freedom Reconciliation Act. The measure, which will now be sent to the President’s desk, repeals the core components of Obamacare and blocks federal funding to Planned Parenthood over the next year while increasing funding for community health centers.

“The President promised American families that Obamacare would save them $2,500 a year, let them keep their doctor, and keep their health care plan.

Five years later we know those promises were not kept, that premiums in the North State increased, not decreased, and many people saw increases by as much as 30% this year.  We know that many are unable to see their old doctors, and millions have been forced off of health care plans they’ve had for years.

Today, we used a process known as reconciliation to place Obamacare repeal on the President’s desk.  I hope he will do what is clearly best for the country and what the people want by signing this bill.

Additionally, this legislation redirects funds currently provided to Planned Parenthood to other women's health providers so women can continue to receive care, without forcing taxpayers to fund abortion providers. There are 1694 federally qualified health clinics in California where women can receive quality care, compared to just 114 Planned Parenthood clinics. Reprograming these funds let us protect real healthcare for women without forcing taxpayers to support abortion providers.

According to the Congressional Budget Office, H.R. 3762, which passed on a vote of 240-181, would reduce the federal deficit by $516 billion over the next 10 years. 

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.