Rep. LaMalfa Opposes $1.1 Trillion Omnibus Spending Bill

Dec 18, 2015
Press Release

Washington, DC – Rep. LaMalfa today released the following statement regarding his vote against the $1.1 trillion spending package to fund the government through September 2016.

“We knew going in that Speaker Ryan was working to make the best of the bad hand he was dealt when he was chosen to lead the House. However, I could not support the final product of negotiations.

“This bill contains some very positive components. It increases pay for our troops, closes loopholes in our Visa Waiver Program so we know who is entering our country, and funds health benefits for 9/11 first responders. It accelerates approval of Sites Reservoir, completing the decades-long study of a project that Californians so clearly need. The measure also frees up millions in federal funds provided to North State transportation projects that were never built, allowing more highway and road improvements without spending new funds.   

“However, the bill increases spending at a time when the federal debt has reached astounding levels and leaves a number of issues on the table. The administration’s Waters of the United States power grab, already rejected by two federal courts, remains in place, as does the President’s immigration plan.

“Ultimately, the growing deficit and the likelihood of interest rate increases indicate that debt service will be an increasingly larger responsibility for Congress, a problem this bill makes worse.

“In order to truly reform the government, we must look beyond the third of federal spending in this bill and address the autopilot programs that run the nation farther into the red every year. I am committed to working with the Speaker to put our nation back on sound footing by simplifying our tax code, reforming autopilot spending, and replacing Obamacare.”

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.