Rep. LaMalfa Introduces Legislation to Streamline Recreation Permitting Process

May 5, 2016
Press Release

Washington, DC – Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA) announced that he has introduced the Guides and Outfitters Act (GO Act), H.R. 5129. The GO Act will continue to make recreation services available to the public and renew the authorization for outfitter and guide permits while eliminating bureaucratic red tape. The measure also caps permit fees, prevents federal agencies from imposing fees outside of federal lands, and provides categorical exclusions for previously studied uses to eliminate duplicative studies that delay permits.

“I’m proud to introduce the GO Act, making it easier for guides and outfitters to help Americans enjoy their public lands,” said LaMalfa. “Guides and outfitters should not have to navigate arbitrary rules, inconsistent practices, and unresponsive federal agencies. The current process is just too expensive and too complicated.

“Streamlining the recreation permitting process with the GO Act will lead to more recreation opportunities for the public,” LaMalfa added. “The GO Act is consistent with my commitment to increasing public access to public lands, ensuring federal agencies are responsive to the communities in which they operate, and removing unnecessary bureaucratic red tape.”

Don Amador, Western Representative for the BlueRibbon Coalition, which champions the responsible use of public lands and waters for all recreationists, released the following statement:

“Congressman LaMalfa should be commended for his efforts to streamline the process for special recreation permits. Over the years, a growing avalanche of complex rules, regulations, and court decisions have driven up the costs and fees charged by federal agencies to local OHV clubs, outfitters and guides, and other recreation groups for special use permits.  This important legislation will help ensure that public lands remain available for various recreational group activities.”

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.