LaMalfa Announces U.S. Military Academy Nominations

Jan 11, 2018
Press Release
(Washington, DC) – Congressman Doug LaMalfa (R-Richvale) issued the following statement after announcing that he has nominated 20 North State residents as candidates to the United States Service Academies. The U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and the U.S. Merchant Marines Academy each require a Congressional nomination in order to attend. The admissions process is highly competitive.
LaMalfa said: “It is the dream of many young people to attend a U.S. service academy and serve their country. Those selected for an appointment later this month will receive a top-tier education combined with valuable life experience that only the U.S. military can provide. It’s a pleasure to nominate these remarkable young men and women from the North State, and I wish them all the best of luck.”
Representative LaMalfa’s nominees were recommended by a committee of North State community leaders and veterans from various branches of the military. The committee recommended a slate of nominees after interviewing and carefully considering the files of North State students who applied for the nomination. Having been nominated, the students must now compete with other nominees for an appointment to the academies. Academy officials will begin announcing appointments in January.
Congressman LaMalfa’s nominees for the service academies are:
Olivia Brodmerkle – Redding
U.S. Merchant Marines Academy
Marshal Brose – Corning
U.S. Naval Academy
Isabel Clark – Auburn
U.S. Air Force Academy
William Farrell – Chico
U.S. Naval Academy
Savannah Feagin – Shasta Lake
U.S. Military Academy
Dominic Garrity – Grass Valley
U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
Ethan Garrity – Grass Valley
U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Military Academy
John Hart – Durham
U.S. Naval Academy
Regan Heppe – Nevada City
U.S. Air Force Academy
Jordan Luiz – Cottonwood
U.S. Air Force Academy
Nathan Matalavage – Chico
 U.S. Naval Academy
Greyson Reynolds – Oroville
U.S. Naval Academy
Abee Sabo – Red Bluff
U.S. Air Force Academy
Michael Sartori – Red Bluff
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Nicholas Schumann – Shasta Lake
U.S. Naval Academy

Samantha Sinel – Colfax
U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Merchant Marines Academy

Alexander Stowe – Quincy
U.S. Naval Academy

Richard Von Brandt – Susanville
U.S. Air Force Academy
Derek Younkers – Red Bluff
U.S. Naval Academy
Harrison Zea – Grass Valley
U.S. Air Force Academy

Any student with a strong desire to serve our nation as an officer in the United States Armed Forces is invited to contact Congressman LaMalfa in the spring of their junior year. Please visit his website for his nomination application and instructions. You may also call his Oroville District office and speak with his U.S. Service Academy Advisor at (530)534-7100.