Rep. LaMalfa Votes to Strengthen Medicare, Advance Rural Health Care

Mar 26, 2015
Press Release

Washington, DC – Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA) today released the following statement regarding the House passage of the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act.  H.R. 2, which passed on a bipartisan vote of 393-37, repeals the current Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) payment method and replaces it with a new payment program that the Congressional Budget Office stated will save almost a billion dollars over current policy. The bill also extends the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) for two years.

“Today, we passed legislation strengthening the Medicare system to ensure our nation’s seniors have access to quality health care, while also providing much needed stability and predictability to our physicians,” said LaMalfa. “By repealing and replacing the flawed, costly sustainable growth rate with patient-centered reforms, we can transition to a value-based payment system that rewards quality and efficiency. This bill will also put in place the structural entitlement reforms that will produce significant savings and help put Medicare on a more fiscally sound path.”

Prior to the bill’s introduction, Rep. LaMalfa led a coalition of House Members urging House leadership to continue funding for the Teaching Health Center program, which supports the training of primary care physicians and dentists in our rural and underserved areas. Northern California has multiple Teaching Health Center programs, including Shasta Community Health Center in Redding, CA.

“I am very pleased that we were successful in including Teaching Health Center funding in the bill,” added LaMalfa. “This critical funding provides significant benefits to rural communities in the North State, and I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues on rural health care priorities.”    

To view Rep. LaMalfa's letter in support of Teaching Health Center programs, which 50 members signed, please click here.

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.