Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon

Congressman Doug LaMalfa

Representing the 1st District of California

Rep. LaMalfa Votes to Defund Sanctuary Cities

Jul 23, 2015
Press Release

Washington, DC –Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA) today voted in favor of H.R. 3009, the Enforce the Law for Sanctuary Cities Act. The bill, which he cosponsored, bars state and local governments from receiving federal funds under the State Criminal Alien Assistance program if such entities have policies in effect that prevent the enforcement of federal immigration laws.

“It is extremely unfortunate that it takes tragedy after tragedy for some in Washington to actually start addressing the real life consequences occurring as a result of this administration’s negligent attitude regarding our immigration laws. The fact that we continue to allow state and local sanctuary policies to continue to exist is completely unacceptable,” continued LaMalfa.  “Providing protection to illegal aliens at the expense of the safety of American citizens is wrong, and the unfortunate truth is that many of these tragic deaths at the hands of illegal immigrants, including the recent shooting in San Francisco, could have been avoided.  One of the most basic responsibilities of government on all levels is to first and foremost protect United States citizens, and I see no reason why taxpayers should continue to fund cities who ignore our rule of law and knowingly put American lives at risk.”

In a recent report done by the Center for Immigration Studies (CIS), “state and local sanctuary policies caused the release of more than 8,000 criminal alien offenders sought by Immigration Customs Enforcement (ICE) for deportation in 276 jurisdictions around the country over an eight month period.”

H.R. 3009 passed the House of Representatives by a vote of 241-179 and will now be sent to the Senate. A video of Rep. LaMalfa speaking in support of the measure can be viewed here: https://youtu.be/WOgD0zwU9-4

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.