Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon

Congressman Doug LaMalfa

Representing the 1st District of California

Rep. LaMalfa Supports Mental Health Reform Bill

Jul 6, 2016
Press Release

Washington DC -  Rep. LaMalfa today voted in support of H.R. 2646, the Helping Families in Mental Health Crisis Act of 2016, a bill he cosponsored reforming our mental health system. LaMalfa released the following statement regarding the bill:

“The bill we passed today offers a bipartisan solution to a broken mental health system impacting over 11 million Americans, and is the result of years’ worth of discussions, investigations, hearings, and debates. The current mental health system, comprised of a chaotic web of duplicative programs and outdated laws, is broken.

This measure ensures a clear pathway to treatment and recovery is available to those with severe mental illness and their families. It should never take a crisis or hitting rock bottom for an individual suffering to receive the help they need. 

“It also helps communities expand treatment options that meet local needs, including the Assisted Outpatient Treatment, which Nevada County has already seen great success with. Importantly, the bill improves access to rural care by prioritizing funding for telemedicine, so patients can rapidly connect with psychiatrists even in remote locations.

“It is time for a change. While the millions of dollars spent each year on mental health have continued to increase, so have rates of violence, suicide, incarceration, and addiction. We cannot afford to stand by and accept the status quo, because it is increasingly clear that that the cost of inaction is far more significant than the cost of action.

H.R. 2646 passed on the House floor unanimously and will now be sent to Senate for consideration. A video of Rep. LaMalfa’s floor speech supporting the legislation can be viewed here.

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.