LaMalfa’s Guides and Outfitters Act Passes Committee

Jun 27, 2017
Press Release

(Washington, DC) – Congressman Doug LaMalfa (R-Richvale) issued the following statement after his bill, H.R. 289, the Guides and Outfitters (GO) Act passed the Natural Resources Committee. This legislation helps more Americans enjoy federal lands by streamlining the approval of special recreation permits issued by the National Park Service (NPS), the US Forest Service (USFS), the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), and other federal agencies.

LaMalfa said: “Reviving rural economies and encouraging recreation on our public lands go hand in hand. Too often, the public is delayed or denied reasonable use of public lands by a slow moving bureaucracy that places unnecessary red tape and roadblocks that increase costs and overcomplicate what should be a fairly straightforward process. The federal government owns over forty-five percent of the land in California and over half of all the land in the Western United States. The GO Act will help guides and outfitters in rural areas create more recreation opportunities for Americans and increase the public’s access to their public lands. I look forward to a House floor vote soon.”

The GO Act provides more certainty, lower costs, and faster approval times for all Americans hoping to enjoy outdoor activities and events on federal lands by:

  • Providing outdoor groups with a more orderly and efficient permit application.
  • Decreasing processing time and lowering administrative costs by allowing permits to be completed online.
  • Aligning conflicting policies by federal land management agencies.
  • Providing joint permits for recreational trips and activities that cross a combination of NPS, BLM, and USFS land.
  • Creating temporary permits for up to 2 years with the option for conversion into a long-term permit in order to ease approval of new activities and events.

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District including, Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties.